Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Portal for Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the festivals community.  

An adventure to explore from imagination to reality,  the arts & talents to be discovered.

Started in 1995 connecting films to festivals, reporting and promoting festivals worldwide.

A brand new website will soon be available. Covid-19 is not helping, stay safe meanwhile.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

Sorry for the server problems we are currently testing :)

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes

Best Trailers for June 2020


Reporting on movies, film festivals, film production, premieres, movie events, industry trends and plays from around the world

The Global Film Village: Hurt Locker Triumphs at BAFTA Awards

by Marla Lewin

2010 BAFTA Awards Winners                                      photo (c) 2010 BAFTA 

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards for 2010 (BAFTA) were announced tonight at London’s Royal Opera House. In his first formal act as President of BAFTA, Prince William presented Vanessa Redgrave with a British Academy Fellowship. HRH Prince William succeeds Lord Attenborough in the position. David Parfitt, Chair of BAFTA, said: “The Academy has had a long association with the Royal Family and we are absolutely delighted that HRH Prince William has agreed to become our President”.

The Hurt Locker won six BAFTA Awards this year including Best Film, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay and Best Editing. A Single Man actor Colin Firth won the Leading Actor and Carrey Mulligan in An Education won the leading Actress award. Avatar wins Production Design and Special Visual Effects. The Supporting Actor and Actress awards went to Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds and Mo’Nique in Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire. Kristen Stewart won the Orange Rising Star Award.

Complete list of winners in British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards for 2010:

Best Film: The Hurt Locker


Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

Leading Actor: Colin Firth (A Single Man)


Leading Actress: Carey Mulligan (An Education)


Academy Fellowship: Vanessa Redgrave


Outstanding British Film: Fish Tank


Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer: Duncan Jones (Moon)

Original Screenplay: The Hurt Locker (Mark Boal)


Adapted Screenplay: Up In The Air (Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner)


Film Not In The English Language: A Prophet

Animated Film: Up (Pete Docter)


Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Inglorious Basterds)

Supporting Actress: Mo’nique (Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire)

Music: Up (Michael Giacchino)

Cinematography: The Hurt Locker (Barry Ackroyd)

Editing: The Hurt Locker (Bob Murawski, Chris Innis)

Production Design: Avatar (Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair)

Costume Design: The Young Victoria (Sandy Powell)

Sound: The Hurt Locker (Ray Beckett, Paul N. J. Ottosson)

Special Visual Effects: Avatar (Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R Jones)

Make Up & Hair: The Young Victoria (Jenny Shircore)

Short Animation: Mother Of Many (Sally Arthur, Emma Lazenby)

Short Film: I Do Air (James Bolton, Martina Amati)

Orange Rising Star Award: Kristen Stewart


User images

About MarlaLewinGFV

Lewin Marla
(Global Film Village)

Marla is a producer, playwright, screenwriter, publicist and now a journalist. She attends 12 to 20 film festivals per year. She has spoken on filmmaking at many festivals including Cannes and SXSW.


Los Angeles

United States

View my profile
Send me a message