Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage


Enjoy the best of both worlds: Portal with Film & Fest News and Social network for the festival community.  

Since 1995 we enjoy connecting films to festivals and document the world of festivals worldwide.
We offer the most comprehensive festival directory of 7 000 festivals, browse festival blogs, film blogs...and promote yourself.

The website is currently being redesigned, we will surprise you very soon.

User login


All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

English I en Français I Oscar


New York Film Critics Circle winners announced; Roma Named Best Film

The New York Film Critics Circle voted today at the Film Society of Lincoln Center for its 2018 awards winners. The awards will be handed out during the annual ceremony on Monday, January 7, 2019 at Tao Downtown.

Roma took home the prizes for Best Film and Best Cinematography, with Alfonso Cuarón also winning for Best Director. Regina Hall was selected as Best Actress for her role Support the Girls. Ethan Hawke was chosen as Best Actor for First Reformed. Special Awards were given to David Schwartz, who is stepping down as Chief Film Curator at Museum of the Moving Image after 33 years, and to the Kino Classics Box Set Pioneers: First Women Filmmakers. Full list of winners below.

“Our membership expanded this year and so did the sheer volume of great movies worth voting on,” said Eric Kohn, 2018 returning NYFCC Chairman and film critic for IndieWire. “We’re so thrilled to spread the love with these terrific films and performances, all of which deliver fresh, exciting visions of the world. From the poetic heights of Roma to the haunting paranoia of First Reformed and the mind-bending visual sophistication of Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, every single winner this year features a complex, unpredictable vision. Conventionality is for conventional awards shows. Our January dinner will certainly not fall into that category.”
Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest and most prestigious in the country. The circle’s membership includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and the web’s most respected online publications. Every year the organization meets in New York to vote on awards for the calendar year's films.
The Circle's awards are often seen as shaping the Oscar race. The Circle's awards are also viewed — perhaps more accurately — as a principled alternative to the Oscars, honoring aesthetic merit in a forum that is immune to commercial and political pressures.

Best Film: 
Best Director:
Alfonso Cuarón / Roma
Best Screenplay:
First Reformed (Paul Schrader)
Best Actress: 
Regina Hall / Support the Girls
Best Actor:   
Ethan Hawke / First Reformed 

Best Supporting Actress:
Regina King / If Beale Street Could Talk
Best Supporting Actor:
Richard E. Grant / Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Best Foreign Language Film:
Cold War (Pawel Pawlikowski)
Best Cinematography:
Roma (Alfonso Cuarón)
Best Nonfiction Film:
Minding the Gap (Bing Liu)
Best First Film: 
Eighth Grade (Bo Burnham)
Best Animated Film:
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman)
Special Awards:
David Schwartz, stepping down as Chief Film Curator at Museum of the Moving Image after 33 years.
Kino Classics Box Set “Pioneers: First Women Filmmakers”
A full list of voting members is below:
Eric Kohn (CHAIR)

Alison Willmore (VICE CHAIR)



Sam Adams
John Anderson

Melissa Anderson

Michael Atkinson
The Village Voice

Richard Brody
The New Yorker

Dwight Brown
NNPA Syndication

Kameron Austin Collins
Vanity Fair
Bilge Ebiri
The Village Voice

David Edelstein
New York Magazine

David Ehrlich
Kate Erbland 
David Fear
Rolling Stone
Graham Fuller
Culture Trip

Owen Gleiberman

Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Steven Greydanus
The National Catholic Register
Rafer Guzman

Jordan Hoffman
The Guardian

Caryn James

Stuart Klawans
The Nation 

Richard Lawson
Vanity Fair
Tomris Laffly 
Time Out New York
Violet Lucca
Film Comment
Joe Morgenstern
The Wall Street Journal

Sheila O’Malley
Nick Pinkerton
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor

Rex Reed
New York Observer

Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out New York

Alan Scherstuhl
The Village Voice

Matt Zoller Seitz

David Sims
The Atlantic
Matt Singer

Kyle Smith
National Review

Dana Stevens

Sara Stewart
New York Post

Amy Taubin

Peter Travers
Rolling Stone

Keith Uhlich

Elizabeth Weitzman
The Wrap

Stephen Whitty
The Star-Ledger

Alissa Wilkinson
Emily Yoshida 
New York Magazine 
Stephanie Zacharek
Time Magazine

User images

About AwardsWatch

(International Media Resources)

All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

United States

View my profile
Send me a message