Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

Working on an upgrade soon.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



Established 1995 serves and documents relentless the festivals community, offering 92.000 articles of news, free blog profiles and functions to enable festival matchmaking with filmmakers.


Share your news with us at to be featured.  SUBSCRIBE to the e-newsletter.  

MEET YOUR EDITOR Bruno Chatelin - Check some of his interviews. Board Member of many filmfestivals and regular partner of a few key film events such as Cannes Market, AFM, Venice Production Bridge, Tallinn Industry and Festival...Check our recent partners.  

The news in French I English This content and related intellectual property cannot be reproduced without prior consent.


The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) nomination council


The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) today announced members of the 2010 APSA Nominations
, comprising international film industry experts from eight countries drawn from high profile
academic institutions, film festivals and film organisations across Asia-Pacific. The 2010 Council
chaired by Professor Hong-Joon Kim (Republic of Korea) includes two new members: producer/
director Nan Achnas (Indonesia) and producer/author Peggy Chiao (Taiwan).

Entries open today for the competition, now in its fourth year. Films from a vast range of countries
including Cambodia, Japan, India, Turkey, Republic of Korea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Russian
Federation, Kyrgystan and New Zealand will submit films to compete for the region's highest accolade
in film, to be presented at the fourth annual APSA Ceremony on Australia's Gold Coast on
December 2, 2010.

Fifty-one Official Submitting Organisations have been invited by APSA and FIAPF-International
Federation of Film Producers Associations to submit films to represent their country or region.
In addition, the Nominations Council and the APSA Chairman are empowered to invite titles to
compete. APSA does not accept independent submissions.

2010 is already shaping up to be a significant year for Asia-Pacific films, with a strong showing from
the region at February's Berlin Film Festival where films from Asia-Pacific took out 11 major awards
including the Golden Bear for Best Film which was awarded to Turkish film Bal (Honey). The upcoming
Cannes Film Festival will feature new works by Takeshi Kitano, Lee Chang-dong, Im Sang-soo and
Apichatpong Weerasethakul, all expected to be among the 200 plus films in contention for this year's

Several members of the APSA Academy have eligible projects including two time APSA winner Lee
Chang-dong whose new film Poetry will be in competition at Cannes later this month. Lee's Miryang
(Secret Sunshine) won Best Feature Film and Best Performance by an Actress at the inaugural APSAs
and in 2009, Ye Haeng Ja (A Brand New Life) won Best Children's Feature Film.

Other Academy members to watch in 2010 include: Simon Yam who stars in Echoes of the Rainbow
which won the Crystal Bear in Berlin and a Best Actor accolade for Yam at the recent Hong Kong Film
Awards; Shawkat Amin Korki, director of multi-award winning Kick Off; Jeon Do-yeon who stars in the
highly anticipated remake of Korean classic Housemaid; and Huang Jianxin, 2009 APSA Jury President
whose latest film, action-thriller Bodyguards and Assassins is a successful Hong Kong-Mainland China

Entries close on August 23 and the Nominations Council will gather in Brisbane, Australia in September
to deliberate on films and reach nominees in nine of twelve award categories. Preparatory work will be
performed by the Advisory Committee to the Nominations Council, chaired by film critic and historian,
Adrienne Mc Kibbins, who will assist the Nominations Council in reviewing eligible films.

Nominations Council members for 2010 are: Chair, Professor Hong-Joon Kim (Republic of Korea),
Department of Film, School of Film, TV and Multimedia, Korea National University of Arts; Mohammad
Atebbai (Islamic Republic of Iran)
Managing Director, Iranian Independents; Russell Edwards
film critic for Variety magazine; Azize Tan (Turkey), Director, International Istanbul Film
Festival, Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts; Anne Démy-Geroe (Australia) film scholar and
former Executive Director, Brisbane International Film Festival; Yuka Sakano (Japan) Head of
International Relations, Kawakita Memorial Film Institute; Maithili Rao (India) author and film critic.

New council member Peggy Chiao is a respected film producer and key figure in the Taiwan New
Cinema movement of the 1980s. She is an academic and author of more than 40 books on film and
former Chairman of Taipei's prestigious Golden Horse Film Festival. Nan Achnas is a director and
producer whose documentary and narrative works have screened at festivals worldwide including the
FIPRESCI award-winning Whispering Sands. Nan produced 2009 APSA Nominee 3 Doa 3 Cinta
(Pesantren: 3 Wishes 3 Loves) and currently teaches Cinema Studies at the Jakarta Institute of the

The Nominations Council operates on a rotational basis. Founding members Philip Cheah (Singapore),
Professor Xie Fei (People's Republic of China), Aruna Vasudev (India), Soheir Abdel Kader (Egypt) and
Jeannette Paulson Hereniko (Hawaii) will not sit on the council in 2010 but will be welcomed back in
future years.

APSA Nominees will be announced early October and winners in each category will be determined by
an International Jury who will assemble on Australia's Gold Coast on November 22 to commence
deliberations. The 2010 International Jury President will be announced on May 16 from APSA's
International Launch at the Cannes Film Festival. APSA is an international cultural initiative of the
Queensland State Government, Australia.

KEY DATES 2010*:

 May 3 - Entries Open 

 August 23 - Entries Close

 September 21 - October 2 - Nominations Council Deliberations

 Early October - Nominees Announcement

 November 22 - International Jury arrive on Australia's Gold Coast to commence 
screenings & deliberations

 December 2 - Fourth Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards Ceremony

User images

About Editor

Chatelin Bruno

The Editor's blog

Bruno Chatelin Interviewed

Be sure to update your festival listing and feed your profile to enjoy the promotion to our network and audience of 350.000.     




View my profile
Send me a message