Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Portal for Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the festivals community.  

An adventure to explore from imagination to reality,  the arts & talents to be discovered.

Started in 1995 connecting films to festivals, reporting and promoting festivals worldwide.

A brand new website will soon be available. Covid-19 is not helping, stay safe meanwhile.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

Sorry for the server problems we are currently testing :)

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes

Best Trailers for June 2020


The 70th Berlinale International Film Festival will be held from February 20 to March 1, 2020.
Our team of festival ambassadors and reporters bring you the dailies from the Berlin Film Festival and European Film Market and keep an eye on past editions archives. WATCH OUR VIDEO COVERAGE TRAILERS INTERVIEWS AND AMBIANCE   PHOTOS

#berlinale I Berlinale 2019 I  Berlinale 2018Berlinale 2017 coverage I Berlinale  2016 I Berlinale 2015 I  Berlinale 2014 I 




Juries of the 70th Berlinale


Jeremy Irons, President of the International Jury 2020 © Photo: Antonello&Montesi I Bérénice Bejo © Michel Hazanavicius I Bettina Brokemper © Martin Menke I Annemarie Jacir © Ammar Abd Rabbo I Kenneth Lonergan, kein Copyright (Privatfoto) I Luca Marinelli © Riccardo Ghilardi / Contour by Getty Images I Kleber Mendonça Filho © Ph. Lebruman


The International Jury


The members of the International Jury, which is headed by Jury President Jeremy Irons have been appointed: Actress Bérénice Bejo (Argentina / France), producer Bettina Brokemper (Germany), director Annemarie Jacir (Palestine), plawright and director Kenneth Lonergan (USA), actor Luca Marinelli (Italy) and film critic, director and programmer Kleber Mendonça Filho (Brazil). More about the International Jury here.


Dominga Sotomayor © Julie Cunnah I Eva Trobisch © Franziska von Stenglin I Shôzô Ichiyama (kein Copyright)


The Encounters Jury

As of 2020, the new competitive section Encounters will give more room to diverse narrative and documentary forms in the official programme. A three-member jury will choose the winners for Best Film, Best Director and a Special Jury Award: Dominga Sotomayor (Chile), Eva Trobisch (Germany), Shôzô Ichiyama (Japan). More about the Encounters Jury here.



Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese © Thabi Thindi I Réka Bucsi © Heinrich Völkel I Fatma Çolakoğlu © Cağlayan Çevik


The International Short Film Jury

The Berlinale Shorts International Jury consists of three filmmakers and artists - animation filmmaker Réka Bucsi (Hungary), curator Fatma Çolakoğlu (Turkey) and filmmaker Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese
(Lesotho). At home in multiple artistic and cultural fields, they each bring with them their own perspective on the way they view and evaluate the competing films. More about the International Short Film Jury here.


 © Max Kullmann


The Generation Juries

Two International Juries will award the Grand Prix for the Best Film in the Generation competitions Kplus and 14plus respectively: Abbas Amini (Iran), Jenna Bass (South Africa) and Rima Das (India) form the Generation 14plus International Jury this year and will honour the Best Film and the Best Short Film from among the 28 Generation 14plus competition entries. In the Kplus competition, Marine Atlan (France), María Novaro (Mexico) and Erik Schmitt (Germany) will decide upon the Best Film and Best Short Film from among 31 entries. More about the Generation Juries here.

Gerd Kroske © N.Suthor I Marie Losier © Antoine Barraud I Alanis Obomsawin © Cosmos Imag


Berlinale Documentary Award Jury

In total, 21 documentary forms from the sections Competition, Berlinale Special, Encounters, Panorama, Forum, Generation and Perspektive Deutsches Kino have been nominated for the Berlinale Documentary Award, which is sponsored by rbb for the first time in 2020. A three-member jury will pick the winner: Gerd Kroske (Germany), Marie Losier (France / USA), Alanis Obomsawin (Canada). More about the Documentary Award Jury here.

Ognjen Glavonić © Anne Colliard I Hala Lotfy (kein Copyright) I Gonzalo de Pedro Amatria © Pablo Useros


Jury GWFF Best First Feature Award

Since 2006, the GWFF Best First Feature Award has been given to one outstanding debut film across the Berlinale sections. This year, 21 directorial feature film debuts from the sections Encounters, Panorama, Forum, Generation and Perspektive Deutsches Kino are nominated. A three-person jury will decide on the award: Ognjen Glavonić (Serbia), Hala Lotfy (Egypt) and Gonzalo de Pedro Amatria (Spain). More about the GWFF Jury here.


Friedrich von Thun, Eva Mattes, Hartmut Becker in O.K. von/by Michael Verhoeven (kein Copyright)



O.K. in the Forum Anniversary Programme

In 1970, the German entry to the Competition split the Berlinale: the black-and-white film O.K., directed by Michael Verhoeven and produced by Rob Houwer. Most of the members of the jury perceived it to be anti-American. A major controversy flared up and the Berlinale ended without awarding the Bears. O.K. now returns to Berlin in 2020 as the official closing film of the Berlinale Forum’s anniversary programme. More here.


User images

About Berlin

Chatelin Bruno

Berlin 2019: The dailies from the Berlin Film Festival brought to you by our team of festival ambassadors. Vanessa McMahon, Alex Deleon, Laurie Gordon, Lindsay Bellinger and Bruno Chatelin...
Ambiance, film reviews, trailers and podcasts, EFM insider information, and much more.
Feel free to leave us your comments and share the blogs with more fans from the festivals scene.




View my profile
Send me a message