Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

Working on an upgrade soon.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



Reporting on movies, film festivals, film production, premieres, movie events, industry trends and plays from around the world

The Global Film Village: Jason Reitman, Jeremy Renner and T Bone Burnett to be honored at Palm Springs Festival

by Marla Lewin


Three more names have been added to honorees list at the 21st Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival.  Academy Award-nominated director Jason Reitman will receive its Director of the Year Award for Up in the Air, Jeremy Renner will receive the Breakthrough Performance Award for The Hurt Locker and T Bone Burnett will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing for Crazy Heart. The Awards Gala, presented by Cartier, will kick off the Festival on January 5 at the Palm Springs Convention Center and will be hosted by "Entertainment Tonight's" Mary Hart. The Festival runs January 5-18, 2010.


Up in the Air stars Oscar-winner George Clooney and Anna Kendrick who is also being honored at the gala. The film also stars Vera Farmiga and Jason Bateman. Reitman was honored by the Festival in 2008 with the Chairman's Vanguard Award for Juno, which was also presented to the cast and writer Diablo Cody. Juno won three Independent Spirit awards and a Grammy Award. Reitman made his feature film directing debut with the 2006 hit, Thank You For Smoking. The film went on to earn a Golden Globe nomination for Best Picture, an Independent Spirit Award for Best Screenplay, and a WGA nomination for Best Adapted Screenplay. Reitman was also named Best Debut Director by the National Board of Review. 


Jeremy Renner stars in The Hurt Locker, the critically acclaimed film directed by Kathryn Bigelow.  Renner was nominated as Best Actor for this role at the 2008 Independent Spirit Awards. He has since received the National Board of Review Breakthrough Performance by an Actor.


T Bone Burnett produced the critically acclaimed film Crazy Heart, starring Jeff Bridges, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Colin Farrell and Robert Duvall, which will be released by Fox Searchlight on December 16. He also composed the film's score with collaborator Stephen Burton and co-wrote many of its original songs, including "The Weary Kind," which is performed numerous times in the film and is featured in its trailer.

Burnett's 40 years of experience in music and entertainment have earned him an unparalleled reputation. He was nominated for an Academy Award in 2004, along with Elvis Costello, in the category of Best Original Song for "The Scarlet Tide" from the film Cold Mountain. For his work on that film, Burnett earned BAFTA's Anthony Asquith Award. His first major foray into film was his 1999 collaboration with the Coen Brothers on The Big Lebowski, for which he served as musical archivist. He has since served as executive music producer, and created hit soundtracks for numerous films including O Brother Where Art Thou, Across The Universe, Walk The Line (for which he also composed the score) and The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.


User images

About MarlaLewinGFV

Lewin Marla
(Global Film Village)

Marla is a producer, playwright, screenwriter, publicist and now a journalist. She attends 12 to 20 film festivals per year. She has spoken on filmmaking at many festivals including Cannes and SXSW.


Los Angeles

United States

View my profile
Send me a message