Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

A brand new website will soon be available. Covid-19 is not helping, stay safe meanwhile.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



The 73rd Berlin International Film Festival will take place from Thu, Feb 16, 2023 - Sun, Feb 26, 2023
Our team of festival ambassadors and reporters brings you the dailies from the Berlin Film Festival and European Film Market and keep an eye on past editions archives. WATCH OUR VIDEO COVERAGE TRAILERS INTERVIEWS AND AMBIANCE   PHOTOS

#berlinale I Berlinale 2021Berlinale 2020Berlinale 2019 I  Berlinale 2018Berlinale 2017 coverage I Berlinale  2016 I Berlinale 2015 I  Berlinale 2014 I 


Mathew Modine joins the Jury for the Best First Feature in Berlinale

The Berlinale has been even more committed to supporting the next generation of film makers since 2006, when it introduced the Best First Feature Award. The award is endowed with 50,000 Euros, donated by the GWFF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrecht), a society dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. The prize money is to be split between the producer and the director of the winning film. Additionally, the director will be awarded with a high-quality viewfinder as both a useful instrument and memorable trophy. 
Debut feature films from the sections Competition, Panorama, Forum, Generation and for the first time also debut films from the Perspektive Deutsches Kino will compete for the award in 2012. The winners will be announced at the official award ceremony in the Berlinale Palast on February 19. 
A three-person jury will decide on the Best First Feature:
Moritz Rinke (Germany)
The dramatist and novelist received the 1997 PEN Club Literature Award for his second play “The Man Who Never Yet Saw Woman's Nakedness”. His new adaptation of “Die Nibelungen” became one of the most successful German theatre productions. In 2008 Franziska Stünkel filmed his award-winning work “The Vineta Republic”, and in 2010 his first novel “Der Mann, der durch das Jahrhundert fiel” became a bestseller.
Hania Mroué (Lebanon)
Hania Mroué is founder and director of the Metropolis Art Cinema, the first art-house cinema in Lebanon opened in 2006. Since 2001 she is the Managing Director of the Arab film festival “Cinema Days of Beirut”. For the release of Arab and international auteur films she started the MC Distribution company. At the Doha Film Institute she is in charge as Chief Arab programmer for the Doha Tribeca Film festival and DFI’s year round initiatives.
Matthew Modine (USA)
The performances of the award-winning American actor include Stanley Kubrick's Full Metal Jacket, Robert Altman’s Shortcuts and Alan Parker’s Birdy. Matthew Modine made his screenplay/directorial feature debut with If...Dog…Rabbit. Jesus Was a Commie, his award winning short film, is currently playing at festivals around the globe. His recent roles include Girl in Progress, Family Weekend and The Dark Knight Rises. 
The following 27 films have qualified for the Best First Feature Award:
Panorama (6)
Cherry by Stephen Elliot, USA 
Chocó (Choco) by Jhonny Hendrix Hinestroza, Columbia 
HIGHWAY by Deepak Rauniyar, Nepal/USA 
Kuma by Umut Dag, Austria 
My Brother the Devil** by Sally El Hosaini, Great Britain 
Sharqiya by Ami Livne, Israel/France/Germany
Forum (8)
Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) by Marlon N. Rivera, the Philippines 
Francine by Brian M. Cassidy and Melanie Shatzky, USA/Canada 
Hemel by Sacha Polak, Netherlands/Spain 
Kashi (Choked) by Joong-Hyun Kim, Republic of Korea
Koi ni itaru yamai (The End of Puberty) by Kimura Shoko, Japan 
Příliš mladá noc (A Night Too Young) by Olmo Omerzu, Czech Republic/ Slovenia 
Salsipuedes by Mariano Luque, Argentina 
Tepenin Ardı (Beyond the Hill) by Emin Alper Turkey/Greece 
Generation (10) 
ARCADIA by Olivia Silver, USA 
Kauwboy by Boudewijn Koole, Netherlands
Kikoeteru, furi wo sita dake (Just Pretended to Hear) by Kaori Imaizumi, Japan 
Pacha by Héctor Ferreiro, Bolivia/Mexico 
Comes A Bright Day by Simon Aboud, Great Britain 
Electrick Children by Rebecca Thomas, USA
Joven & Alocada (Young & Wild)** by Marialy Rivas, Chile 
Nosilatiaj. La Belleza (Beauty) by Daniela Seggiaro, Argentina 
Un Mundo Secreto (A Secret World) by Gabriel Mariño, Mexico
Una Noche by Lucy Mulloy, USA/Cuba/Great Britain 
Perspektive Deutsches Kino (3)
DIE VERMISSTEN (REPORTED MISSING) by Jan Speckenbach, Germany 
Gegen Morgen (Before Tomorrow) by Joachim Schoenfeld, Germany 
Westerland by Tim Staffel, Germany
** The films denoted with ** are no longer qualified for candidacy if they win an award at the Sundance Film Festival.

User images

About Berlin

Chatelin Bruno

Berlin 2019: The dailies from the Berlin Film Festival brought to you by our team of festival ambassadors. Vanessa McMahon, Alex Deleon, Laurie Gordon, Lindsay Bellinger and Bruno Chatelin...
Ambiance, film reviews, trailers and podcasts, EFM insider information, and much more.
Feel free to leave us your comments and share the blogs with more fans from the festivals scene.




View my profile
Send me a message